Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Lacrosse - Girls

Program Overview:

Greenwich High School lacrosse provides high level high school programming for all students interested in developing as complete athletes and growing in the game of lacrosse.  We have an outstanding coaching staff focused on developing skills and building a passion for the game.   We seek to maximize our players potential both on and off the field.  While our goal is to develop every player in the program and build championship teams, we emphasize the importance of life lessons and graduating strong, mature and confident leaders from our program.  

Core Values that Define our Culture:

  • Work Ethic
  • Attitude
  • Teamwork
  • Respect
  • Communication
  • Leadership

Time Commitment:

Practice and/or games:
Monday - Friday from 3:30-5:30 pm.
Weekend Games and Practices.

*Away games may get players back to GHS a little past 6pm.

Tryout Dates for 9th - 12th grade:
Where: GHS Field 5
When: March 29th 

Student-Athletes are Evaluated on:

  • Attitude 
  • Overall Atheticism 
  • Speed with 1.5 mile run and sprint workouts
  • Stickwork
  • Footwork
  • Teamwork
  • Decision Making ability or LAX IQ
  • Coachability
  • Commitment

Pre-Season Conditioning:

It is the athlete's responsibility to start pre-season training immediately.  Please email Coach Clough and join our Google Classroom for communications regarding preseason and off season opportunities.  

For additional information athletes can refer to the Greenwich Girls Lacrosse Booster Club website - www.greenwichgirlslax.com


Required Equipment:

Equipment Needed Daily:

  • Stick and Back Up Stick if possible 
  • Updated stringing on stick 
  • Mouth-guard (not clear)
  • Eye Protection of Helmet (must be SEI stamped)
  • Sneakers and turf shoes/cleats (preferably cleats)
  • Water

*You will be given a program reversible with a number on it that must be worn at every tryout session.


Coaching Staff:

Tara Clough
Head Coach
tara_clough@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Megan Wax
Varsity Assistant Coach
megan_wax@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Shannon Colligan
Varsity Assistant Coach
shannon_colligan@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Andrew Morton
Volunteer Assistant Coach
andrew_morton@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Peter Simpson
Junior Varsity Coach
peter_simpson@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Dan Goggin
Freshman Coach
dan_goggin@greenwich.k12.ct.us

Katy Young
Freshman Coach
katy_young@greenwich.k12.ct.us