Top Bar


Greenwich High School Students Recognized for PSAT/NMSQT Performance
Greenwich High School Students Recognized for PSAT/NMSQT Performance

Forty-five Greenwich High School (GHS) students have been recognized in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program, an annual academic competition for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships, based on their Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) scores. Fourteen GHS students qualify for scholarships in the National Merit program and thirty-one have been recognized as Commended Students.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC), over 1.5 million students took the 2019 PSAT/NMSQT last October, from which NMSC identified 16,000 of the highest performers as Semifinalists in the scholarship program. Only Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the Merit Scholarship competition and advance to Finalist standing.

"We are thrilled to have fourteen semifinalists and thirty-one students commended for their achievements on this test. This group of semifinalists represents the largest number of semifinalists for any private or public school in the state of Connecticut. It's a testament to the great capabilities of our students and their teachers."

These students will be recognized by the Board of Education on December 19, 2019, at 7:00 p.m. at Julian Curtiss School, located at 180 E. Elm Street, Greenwich, CT 06830.

GHS 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists:

Julia Blank
Cynthia Chen
Nyle Garg
Lucas Gazianis
Phoebe Hartch
Tobin Hirsch
Timothy Kim
Melanie Leguizamon
Kathleen Piotrzkowski
Margaret Tone
Kira Wang
Zachary Wang
Melissa Woo
Kyle Xiong

GHS 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students

Stanley Araki
Alexander Bein
Mark Bourgeois
Emma Burstiner
Sara Craver
Thomas Fenaroli
Jessica Franco
Joshua Frumin
Victoria Fu
Daniel Gove
Kian Jain
Matthew Jester
Akshay Joglekar
Cole Kaicher
Elliot Kim
Nathan King
Thomas Lewis
Henry McGannon
Matthew Meyers
William Owens
Emil Perdue
Anne-Emilie Rouffiac
Andres Ruh
Shun Sakai
Brennan Scorelle
Nithya Shenoy
Justin Speaker
Peter Stewart
Matthew Sullivan
Amelia Szabo
Isobel Wilson

More GPS News