Top Bar


Greenwich DTAC Announces the 2021 GPS Distinguished Teachers
Greenwich DTAC Announces the 2021 GPS Distinguished Teachers

The Distinguished Teachers Award Committee (DTAC) has named this year's 2021 Distinguished Teachers.

2021 Distinguished Teachers:

  • Jennifer Bresler, Greenwich Public Schools, District Secondary Instructional Coach
  • Jennifer Dunn, North Mianus School, 4th Grade Teacher
  • Allison Fallon, Central Middle School, English Language Arts
  • Bruce Johnson, Eastern Middle School, Science and Mathematics
  • Jane Martellino, International School at Dundee, Library Media Specialist
  • Susan Zerman, North Street School, 3rd Grade Teacher

DTAC Chair Ms. Cathy Brunetti shared, "Once again, our Committee has had the privilege of reviewing the nominations of an outstanding slate of submissions. This year's Distinguished Teachers navigated the challenging landscape of teaching during a pandemic, and have left a lasting impact on their students. We are so proud of them and look forward to honoring them."

The six Distinguished Teachers will be honored at DTAC's ceremony on Tuesday, May 4, 2021. This ceremony is open to the public and will be held virtually, due to COVID-19 restrictions. In addition, this ceremony will also honor the 2020 Distinguished Teachers whose celebration was canceled due to the COVID-19 related lockdown last Spring. The link to join the ceremony is available.

In addition, this year's selections will be honored by the Board of Education at their Special Meeting on Thursday, April 22nd. GPS Distinguished Teachers are eligible for selection for the CT Teacher of the Year Program. The GPS selection for this program will be decided in June by the Superintendent.

About the Distinguished Teachers Awards Program
Nominations for GPS Distinguished Teachers are submitted by students, parents, and colleagues in early March each year. Each member of the Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee (DTAC), Inc. reviews every nomination packet. At the annual "vote meeting" in April, DTAC members submit their ballots anonymously and without discussion. The ballots are tallied and the six teachers with the most votes are selected to receive the Distinguished Teacher Award. The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee includes no more than 20 members, with representatives from The Board of Education, The Greenwich Education Association (GEA), The Greenwich Organization of School Administrators (GOSA), the PTA Council, and members of the community including representatives from the Kiwanis and other community organizations, parents and many previously named Greenwich Distinguished Teachers.

More GPS News