Skip To Main Content
Distinguished Teachers Award logo

The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee, Inc. is a nonprofit organization established in 1984 to recognize and celebrate excellence among the dedicated teaching staff of the Greenwich Public Schools. The Committee is comprised of approximately 20 members and is a balance of representatives from the Greenwich Education Association (teachers), the Greenwich Organization of School Administrators, PTA Council (parents), and Board of Education, and members of the community. Members serve a three-year term. The awardees are selected based solely on the written information provided in each candidate’s Nomination Packet.

Currently, the source of funding for the program is primarily the DTAC committee members, PTAs, Greenwich Organization of School Administrators and Greenwich Education Association. DTAC relies on contributions each year to fund monetary awards to the six Distinguished Teacher Award recipients, in addition to an awards ceremony.


Call for Nominations (English Version)

Call for Nominations (Spanish Version)

DTA Information and Past Winners

2022 Distinguished Teachers

The Distinguished Teachers Award Committee (DTAC) has named this year’s 2022 Distinguished Teachers.

2022 Distinguished Teachers:

  • Ms. Libby Craig, International School at Dundee, Advanced Learning Program
  • Mr. Ryan Jones, Greenwich High School, Social Studies
  • Ms. Alison Kistler, North Mianus School, Kindergarten
  • Ms. Tyler Mecozzi, Western Middle School, Science
  • Mr. William Ronk, Riverside School, Fourth-Grade
  • Ms. Darcey Zygmont, North Street School, Third-Grade

GPS Distinguished Teachers are eligible for selection for the CT Teacher of the Year Program. The GPS selection for this program will be decided in June by the Superintendent.

About the Distinguished Teachers Awards Program
Nominations for GPS Distinguished Teachers are submitted by students, parents, and colleagues in early March each year. Each member of the Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee (DTAC), Inc. reviews every nomination packet. At the annual “vote meeting” in April, DTAC members submit their ballots anonymously and without discussion. The ballots are tallied and the six teachers with the most votes are selected to receive the Distinguished Teacher Award. The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee includes no more than 20 members, with representatives from The Board of Education, The Greenwich Education Association (GEA), The Greenwich Organization of School Administrators (GOSA), the PTA Council, and members of the community including representatives from the Kiwanis and other community organizations, parents and many previously named Greenwich Distinguished Teachers.


2022 Distinguished Teachers Awards Ceremony

2022 DTA Ceremony Slideshow

CMS Principal Tom Healy at 2022 DTAS
First Selectman Fred Camillo at 2022 DTAC
GPS Administrator BJ Markus sings the national anthem at 2022 DTAC
GHS Student Javier Serra introduces DTA recipient Mr. Ryan Jones
2022 Distinguished Teachers Awards ceremony
2022 Distinguished Teachers
2022 Distinguished Teacher Libby Craig